Nightlife: The Warehouse Project

Last night I went to The Warehouse Project (WHP) for the 8th time. For Sounds Of The Near Future, which was heavily based around Hip-Hop/Trap/Rap acts with names like Hudson Mohawke, Kaytranada, Peanut Butter Wolf all on the bill, with the likes of Oneman & Jackmaster Present: Can U Dance and Krystal Klear. The night was amazing as WHP always is.

photo 1 photo 2

 

The first time I went to WHP was back in October 2012 – it was my first time to Manchester, and it didn’t disappoint. I went to a SBTKRT curated night and the lineup was amazing, with Hoya:Hoya being there too. I didn’t really know about the Hoya:Hoya events at the time, but I do now. They are brilliant, with so many genres getting played you’re always kept on your toes. Then last year I went to the Opening, Disclosure Presents, Annie Mac Presents, BuggedOut! and The Jackathon. All lineups were amazing and I saw a lot of brilliant DJs and some last ever live shows – with Azari & III playing Jackathon. Each lineup was special. Then this year I went to Store Street for the first time (the original WHP venue). I went to the opening night and have a few more to come. It is much better than the Victoria Warehouse, in my opinion. I feel that with Manchester’s musical roots – what with big names like The Chemical Brothers, 808 State, New Order, Joy Division, The Smiths, The Stone Roses coming from the city (the list goes on and on) and clubs like The Twisted Wheel and the Haçienda (which my Mum went to and saw New Order play, something I will never be able to beat, even though I’ve seen them 3 times!) – WHP has firmly cemented itself in to this category and is now apart of Manchester’s heritage. As it goes into its 9th year, and 10th next year, it looks like it isn’t going to go anywhere anytime soon! I think everyone should go to WHP at least once just because it’s such iconic place now, even if you’re not that into music the experience alone is an incredible thing in it’s self – so go!

Leave a Reply

