Gig Review: Gilles Peterson at Phonox

To begin with let me just say that Phonox is a banging little club as Sunday was the first time I’ve been, the lasers on ceiling, the warm bulbs on the behind the DJ and the sound system make for the perfect little venue, Andy Peyton has done well again.

Gilles Peterson has been one of my favourite DJs for a number of years, my dad used to listen to him so that’s how I know him. I’ve managed to see him a fair few times from his killer Another Sunday Afternoon at Dingwalls with Patrick Forge and Gilles Peterson to sets at Dimensions. He’s the number one selector.

I was really excited to see him play all day Sunday, because when you get to see a DJ all night or day you get a real taste of their record collection and musical taste. I already know Gilles has amazing taste, so I just wanted to hear some of his gems and diversity and he did just that. There wasn’t a bad minute and the crowd was fully in swing. From gospel disco bangers to footwork to jazz there was no genre left behind, and its safe to say that’s the best time I’ve seen him so far.

Here are songs I heard throughout the day.

 

Leave a Reply

